Oly Cycle 2 – May 22nd 2012 – Day 2

Aww yes Day 2. Feeling pretty good going into today. Lats were a bit sore after doing 165 Pull ups. Quads were a little sore from the pistols but not bad. I did get a bunch of Advocare Night time recovery pills for free that I did take last night… Maybe it helped?

*Weights are in lbs, to lazy to convert to kg*

Power Clean & Power Jerk – 
50% x 3 – 100#
60% x 3 – 120#
70% x 3 – 140#
70% x 3 – 140#
70% x 3 – 140#

Flat Foot Clean Pull  – 2×5 
5 x 220
5 x 220

Split Jerks – 5×3
3 x 135
3 x 145
3 x 155
3 x 165
3 x 165
*Working on form*

Thoughts:

Power cleans felt good. Power Jerk is feeling tons better after re-tooling my dip and drive. Will talk about that later.

Kept the weight light on the clean pulls as I didn’t want to aggravate my back too much. Gotta keep it light till I rebuild again. But felt good though… Kept it a flat foot pull to help cue myself to open hips and knees before going to my toes/ankles.

Made a Jerk box from the 24” box jumps and a bunch of bumper plates. Works pretty well, quiet ghetto… but it works. My Split Jerks are getting better. Really working on only dipping a little. Most people (including me) will try to dip way more than what’s needed. Been really trying to think about knees out and keep the the chest up and then squeezing the butt and driving that bar through the chest. So far it’s helped.

Leave a comment